Father’s Day

In the United States, today is Father’s Day.

Many of my Facebook friends are also middle-aged and have been posting photos of their dads, with messages about how much they miss them. It has brought home to me how fortunate I am to still have my father here and nearby to celebrate with today.

It’s not that he is young; he’s 89.

It’s not that he hasn’t had health issues, including three different cancer diagnoses and a double bypass.

It’s not that he has a great family history. His father and all three of his siblings who made it into their 70’s have been afflicted with Alzheimer’s.

Yet, my dad has managed to bounce back from illness, stay sharp, and keep active.

At least a good share of that is helped by my mom. They exercise together and she keeps any eye on his diet. They are careful to make all their doctor visits and lab tests and to take their medications properly. They laugh often. They stayed engaged with their community.

Most of all, they have been there for me and my sisters and our families, no matter how scattered we were.

I have been the luckiest daughter, though, because my parents retired near us, twenty-five years ago this month. I can’t imagine how life would have been without them nearby for all but three years of my elder daughter’s and all of my younger daughter’s lives.

My dad does follow my blog by email, so he will see this post.

Happy Father’s Day, Dad! I hope you enjoy the fresh strawberry pie we have chilling in the fridge for after dinner.

 

Author: Joanne Corey

Please come visit my eclectic blog, Top of JC's Mind. You can never be sure what you'll find!

2 thoughts on “Father’s Day”

    1. Thanks, Tammy! It was a revelation seeing my dad become a grandfather. Our daughters are the two eldest grandkids of the quartet, so I had never seen my dad interact with babies or very young children. He was great with them!

      Like

Any thoughts? Please share.

