Blog fail times two

After working through most of the aftermath of my parents’ medical misadventures in August, I had the foolish idea that I could make plans for the fall.  The problem wasn’t making the plans as much as executing them…

In the rule of things happening in sets of three, the third member of our family’s elder generation has had medical issues which have necessitated major time commitments and the further jettisoning of things from my already pared down but still lengthy to-do list.

I had signed up for Blogging 101, reasoning that, even though I have been blogging for a year, I still struggle with some of the mechanics of blogging and could use some help. While I managed to do a few assignments the first couple of weeks, I haven’t had time to even look at the site since then, so Blog Fail #1.

Yesterday, I read the email and pingbacks that Some Kernels of Truth had nominated me for the “One Lovely Blog” Award with a touching paragraph about Top of JC’s Mind.  I am so honored and humbled, but I know that I can’t do justice to fulfilling the requirements of acceptance.  Blog Fail #2.

While a large part of these failures is lack of time, the larger problem is lack of brain power.  Even when I can get online time, my mind is running through medical information and planning practicalities for the coming days.

I would urge you to click on the links above and check out the truly lovely Some Kernels of Truth and all of the listed links.  It will be at least partial redemption of Blog Fail #2.

JC

Author: Joanne Corey

Please come visit my eclectic blog, Top of JC's Mind. You can never be sure what you'll find!

5 thoughts on “Blog fail times two”

  1. We all have seasons of life on which we live. I would encourage you to just take it easy and breathe. You can blog and do the blogging 101 anytime; people aren’t always around forever. Will be praying for your journey through this season. …you weren’t exactly slung for advice; I do hope you’ll forgive my forthrightness in the giving. God bless. 🙂
    PS. Thanks for the follow!

    Like

    1. Thank you for your thoughts and blessings. I do appreciate them. I am comfortable with my choices and priorities and am spending major amounts of time with my mother-in-law and dealing with her care. i do feel a bit guilty about letting other commitments slide, but it is as it should be at this point. My family has more than the usual share of medical issues, so there is also something needing attention, lots of juggling, and the occasional dropped ball. I just make sure that none of the really important balls drop.

      Like

  2. I agree with jmgriz, and I don’t like the word “fail” under these kinds of circumstances. You made a decision to prioritize family needs, which makes perfect sense. I don’t know how people get so much blogging done under “normal” circumstances. When life gives us extra things to take care of, we need to remember to take care of ourselves. Take care, JC.

    Like

    1. Thanks, JoAnne. It’s been interesting to see the reaction to my use of the word “fail” which happened also on facebook. I was using it more in the modern idiomatic sense, the way my 20-something daughters might. Maybe it doesn’t work at my age?

      Like

Any thoughts? Please share.

