Fastest response ever

Yesterday, I submitted a poem to the blog of an independent press that features a monthly poetry series on a given theme.  Next month’s theme is “Me, as a child.”  I submitted a poem I had recently written about playing on our school playground. By evening, I had a rejection notice in my inbox, which is far and away the fastest turnaround time I have ever seen. They wanted poems that focus on the individual, whereas my poem focused on children as a group. The positive part of this is that they invited me to send another poem, which feels much better than most of the rejections I’ve received which don’t give any feedback. I don’t know that I will actually submit again for this series; the only poem I have written that deals with my childhood on a personal level would take significant revision to use for this series and I don’t think I have enough brain power to complete it by March 31st.  This does give me confidence, though, to submit to their series in the coming months.

Postscript:  I was entering my tags for this post and was about to type in “submission” as a tag, but, in these days of 50 Shades of Grey, I thought better of it and opted for “publication submission.”  (And, no, I have not read 50 Shades of Grey or seen the movie nor do I plan to do so.)

Author: Joanne Corey

Please come visit my eclectic blog, Top of JC's Mind. You can never be sure what you'll find!

6 thoughts on “Fastest response ever”

  1. Well done you, even having the nerve to send in a poem. I hope you continue to submit poems or writing. I am determined to do the same once I finish my course next month and hopefully time might free up a little.
    We can feel ‘rejected’ together.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. To submit for publication involves a high tolerance for rejection, so it will be good to have another partner-in-rejection! 😉 I am still relatively new to submitting for publication and at this point have only one anthology credit to my name, other than our local venues which were not competitive. I have learned a lot in the past 15 months, though, so I know my next round of submissions will be much more polished than my earlier work.

      Like

      1. I too have one anthology submission, but I’ve never submitted any writing anywhere…. Yet! Keep me in mind for those rejection days and looking forward to celebrations too.

        Like

Any thoughts? Please share.

