SoCS: flying

I used to like to fly. The first time I flew I was in my early twenties and I loved looking out the window at all the landforms I had studied in geology and the clouds I had studied in meteorology. Those were also the days when checked baggage was free and so were snacks and meals. I even remember getting hot towels to freshen up at the end of a long flight – and this was in coach, not first class.

Now, I don’t like flying as much. Flights are really packed and service is  – ummm – let’s say spotty. For example, on my recent flight back to NYS from Hawai’i we had blankets for the flight over the ocean in the afternoon but no blankets for the overnight flight from LAX to Philly. The airline sent me an email to order food for that flight, except they don’t serve food that late at night. Originally, I had a morning flight into Binghamton from Philly, but the airline cancelled it so I was in Philly for five and half hours before getting to come home in the afternoon.

I guess in a way it is lucky that I don’t fly very often. Less to complain about and more money for my bank account.
***
Linda’s prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday this week is: “fly/flies/flew/flu/flue.”  Join us!  Find out how here:  http://lindaghill.com/2015/07/17/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-july-1815/

socs-badge

Author: Joanne Corey

Please come visit my eclectic blog, Top of JC's Mind. You can never be sure what you'll find!

11 thoughts on “SoCS: flying”

    1. Definitely beats stage coach! I have never been on a passenger train, other than short hops. We don’t have passenger train service in my area, but I would consider it to go to a larger gateway airport if we did. I definitely would not want to have to take a ship to Hawai’i, though!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. There actually is a ship that will take you to Hawaii. It’s a Carnival Cruise. It takes about 3 days of what they call “Fun Days at Sea” sailing there and back.

        Like

  1. I always fly Air Canada, and I haven’t had a problem with them yet. Unless there’s extra baggage, it’s still free and so are the meals. When I came home from Japan last year I had three seats to myself, so I lay down and went to sleep. 😀
    Sorry you’ve had such bad flights. You may want to try AC next time… They fly between most points in the U.S.

    Like

    1. Glad to hear that Air Canada is still “old-school” in their approach. Because I fly out of a small regional airport, our choice of airline and destination city is severely limited. Each airline flies to one of its own hubs, making it hard to switch carriers. Although our airport is capable of landing jets, right now everything in and out of it is turbo-props, which are small enough that even most carry-on luggage has to be gate-checked and you have to board from the tarmac. At least we still have service. Some other small airports have had to close.

      Like

      1. Wow. There’s old-school and there’s old-school, eh? I can count on one hand how many small airports I’ve been through… I drive a lot or fly international most of the time.
        Best of luck on your next flight, Joanne. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Any thoughts? Please share.

