the return of lawn mowing

I just got in from mowing the lawn for the first time since the f(l)ight of the bumblebee.

I’m happy to report that I am unscathed, although I did give a wide berth to the one bumblebee that I saw.

And had an adrenaline rush every time anything flew near me, even if it was a startled moth or butterfly.

And did not go anywhere near the shed under which the bumblebees had nested.

But I did get the front lawn done, although, in an ideal world, I would have waited until afternoon, as the grass was still a tiny damp.

I am happy to report that I had a good reason for getting it out of the way this morning. This afternoon, B and I head to Albany to help our daughter T pack her things after her wildly successful summer internship with the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation Natural Heritage program.  She loved it and it confirmed that she had chosen the right major and career path for her master’s degree.

Now it will be back to the classroom at SUNY-Environmental Science and Forestry for her final year.  We are so excited and happy for her!

Wish her luck!

Author: Joanne Corey

Please come visit my eclectic blog, Top of JC's Mind. You can never be sure what you'll find!

Any thoughts? Please share.

