Sleep (or lack thereof)

One of the features of wearing a Fitbit is that you get a weekly report. Mine arrived in my inbox this morning and reported that I had averaged 3 hours and 50 minutes of sleep in the last seven nights.

This is not good, although, to be fair, the last week was worse than typical. While I do often have trouble sleeping, I usually have more good nights’ sleep thrown into the mix.

I actually do go to bed at a reasonable hour and spend eight to nine hours attempting to sleep. I’m not fighting off sleep on purpose. I also follow a lot of the advice on sleep hygiene, but its helpfulness is limited.

Last week was busy and also featured flares of some chronic health issues, one of which I will write about later this month as September is its “awareness month.”

I promise not to be too graphic…

Author: Joanne Corey

Please come visit my eclectic blog, Top of JC's Mind. You can never be sure what you'll find!

4 thoughts on “Sleep (or lack thereof)”

  1. When I was in my late 40’s I’d wake up every morning at 4am. I decided I would practice my meditation skills, without caring whether I went to sleep or not.That way, at least I’d be making good use of my time. With this passive attitude, I ended up falling back to sleep more often than not. Now that my hormones have stabilized,turning off the computer and my partner’s snoring are my only challenges. I bought a noise machine. That and Melatonin help.Wishing you sweet dreams.

    Like

Any thoughts? Please share.

