SoCS: clocks

I like clocks that have faces and numbers and hands, also known as analogue clocks. They are elegant in their simplicity and, for me, a much faster way to tell the time.

If I look at a digital clock, and it reads 12:38, my brain has to process, okay, so it’s halfway between twelve thirty and quarter of one. If I see the same time on a clock face, I can see the proportions of the circle and ascertain the information much more quickly.

In most cases, I don’t need to know the exact minute.

I know that people in medical training are having to adjust to not having watches with second hands. It used to be that someone taking your pulse would just glance at the second hand on their wristwatch to count the pulses in a given time and then multiply. Now, many people don’t wear watches and do time on their cell phones. Presumably they have an app that counts down seconds for them so that they can calculate a patient’s pulse.

But it’s more complicated than in the days of the handy-dandy analogue wristwatch.

I love my solar-cell powered watch and hope to wear it for a long time. So much more elegant than my old flip-phone…
*****
Linda’s prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday this week is “-clo-” Come join us! Find out how here:   http://lindaghill.com/2015/12/11/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-dec-1215/.

SoCS badge 2015

 

Author: Joanne Corey

Please come visit my eclectic blog, Top of JC's Mind. You can never be sure what you'll find!

8 thoughts on “SoCS: clocks”

      1. I know, right? I often have to take Alex’s pulse and when I’m doing it with a digital clock it’s like I have to pay attention to the numbers without trying to concentrate on them. Quite difficult indeed.

        Like

  1. Oh, yes. I absolutely have to have an analog watch. Since I change time zones quite often, I keep it on “home time” so I know when it’s ok to call home. 🙂 I can’t stand digital watches because I have no sense of “the top of the hour” or “twenty til” Many times it doesn’t matter *which* hour, it’s just relative to where we are *inside* the current hour! Great post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. If you read mine, you know I’m the exact opposite. I want the time down to the second, if possible. I have an analog clock in the living room, and when I change the battery I do everything I can to make sure it’s accurate. I’m also the kind that has to know what time it is everywhere else (right now, it’s 4:55 AM on Wednesday in Ulaanbaatar). Why? No reason, just do…

    Liked by 1 person

Any thoughts? Please share.

