SoCS: Animalia

When our older daughter E was in elementary school, there was a wonderful program called PASTtimes. PAST stood for Parents and Students Together. About once a month, there would be an early evening program for families centered around books. It was great because we could bring along our younger daughter T and have a fun evening together.

One of the books to which we were introduced through PASTtimes was Graeme Base’s Animalia. It is an alphabet book featuring fun and complex captions for fantastical paintings. For example, the letter I:  “Ingenious Iguanas Improvising an Intricate Impromptu on Impossibly Impractical Instruments”.  For V, a sign reading: “Victor V. Vulture The Vaudeville Ventriloquist Versatile Virtuoso of Vociferous Verbosity Vexatiously Vocalizing at the Valhalla Variety Venue”.

How could you not fall in love with such a book?

We went on to purchase Animalia and several other Graeme Base books for our home library. I think my favorite may be The Eleventh Hour, but it is hard to choose.

Even though our daughters are long grown, his books have remained on our shelves in the living room. I did look up the quotes above; my memory is not that good!

Wishing everyone some happy book memories today.  Have one to share? I’d love to hear about it in comments.
*****
Linda’s prompt for this week’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday is “an-“. Join us! Find more information here:  http://lindaghill.com/2016/01/29/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-jan-3016/

SoCS badge 2015

This post is also part of Linda’s Just Jot It January. Join us! Visit here:  http://lindaghill.com/2016/01/30/just-jot-it-january-30th-an-socs/

JJJ 2016

To find the rules for Just Jot It January, click here.

Author: Joanne Corey

Please come visit my eclectic blog, Top of JC's Mind. You can never be sure what you'll find!

8 thoughts on “SoCS: Animalia”

  1. I remember that book! I don’t own it, but I do still have a whole shelf of children’s picture books with with pictures so beautiful I haven’t been able to part with them. Maybe they are waiting for grandchildren, or someone’s children, to come read them with me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like a wonderful book! When my son was young I memorized “Where the Wild Things Are”. Nowadays at family get-togethers (after a bit of wine) I’ve been known to act it out – much to my children’s chagrin.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sure that is quite the sight to see! The book I memorized when my children were young was Dr. Suess’s ABC’s. When they would be in the back seat in their car seats, I would “read” it to them as I drove.

      Like

Any thoughts? Please share.

