broken

We are a few days into the season of Lent, traditionally a time of increased prayer, fasting, and almsgiving for Christians. I like to also do some additional spiritual reading and I am loving the reflections on stories about women in the Bible that my friend Rev. Pat Raube is sharing this year through her blog, A Swimmer in the Fount.

I admit that I am feeling discouraged this year, though. Trying to live a life of charity and advocating for social justice has become even more difficult here in the United States, with many threats to human dignity and to our environment. No matter how hard I try, I can’t protect people from difficulties or make things better for them.

At church this morning, I was looking toward the altar when something caught my eye. Instead of decorating with fresh flowers and plants, during Lent many churches feature bare branches, and our church has two fairly large trees on either side of the altar. I noticed that, high in the tree on the right side, the tip of a branch had broken and was hanging down, held by some bark or wood fibers.

I feel like that bit of broken branch, hanging down, bare, and useless. Still, it is in a place where it is protected from wind, so it won’t be disconnected entirely from the tree. Maybe enough connection remains that, when the sap rises, there can be some healing or some new growth from the brokenness.

Today, though, it does not feel that way.

 

Author: Joanne Corey

Please come visit my eclectic blog, Top of JC's Mind. You can never be sure what you'll find!

11 thoughts on “broken”

  1. “I can’t protect people from difficulties or make things better for them.” I’m feeling that same sense of powerlessness, Joanne. My neighbors, a beautiful Muslim family, have moved back to Indonesia. They have dual citizenship yet they were feeling the threat of the current climate and returned to family there. There are so many people feeling that threat in many different ways.
    https://meinthemiddlewrites.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Mary Lou, for sharing the story of your neighbors. I am sorry that you, your neighbors, and our country have lost their presence here among us.

      The stories of people harassing, even physically attacking or killing, people perceived as immigrants and/or Muslims are truly terrifying – and un-American.

      Like

  2. I’m retired from education. I was a full time counselor before switching to education. Now I have free time, so I’m back to be a volunteer counselor for our church outreach program. During the last three years, all the people I helped, only two are from our church. I’m glad that we could reach out to help in the community. We also have a cloth closet and food bank. We try to do as much as we could.
    Hi I’m Miriam, came from Jackie’s party. Nice meeting a Christian who is in the helping ‘business.’ I like to hear some more from you, here I am to follow. Would like to invite you to visit my blog:
    https://theshowersofblessing.wordpress.com/about-me/
    Hope to see you soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for sharing your story of service. It is so hopeful to know that so many are helping others in their communities. I was just over at your blog and followed you. Thanks so much for finding me!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m so happy to have found you and be connected with you. My daughter also volunteers once a month for the homeless women. The women come once a week, get a meal, and get some daily supplies (they travel size products donations). I was with her on her first week. I helped out also. The parking lot is guarded!

        Liked by 1 person

Any thoughts? Please share.

