Rogue One

Today, the four of us took the time to go to the movies, as it is the last day of vacation for B and E.

We went to see the latest movie in the Star Wars franchise, Rogue One.

I admit that I was tired by the violence, especially after sitting through twenty minutes of violent previews before the movie started, but at least it took place a long time ago in a galaxy far, far away.

My favorite character was Baze Malbus, played by Wen Jiang. I appreciated his relationship with The Force.

What appealed to me most was the music, based on the original Start Wars themes by John Williams. I felt that, if I closed my eyes, I could have followed much of the action on screen by hearing the soundtrack.

The most poignant moment was hearing the single word spoken by Carrie Fisher, who passed away last week, followed the next day by her mother, Debbie Reynolds.

Tomorrow, our time will be somewhat more structured, with B off to work, probably before it even gets light in these short, winter days, and E working from home for her employer in Hawai’i.

I’m not sure what I will be doing, but I hope to make time for a JusJoJan post.
*****
This post is part of Linda’s Just Jot It January! Come join us! It is easy and fun! Find out more here:  https://lindaghill.com/2017/01/02/jusjojan-daily-prompt-jan-2nd17/

jjj-2017

 

Author: Joanne Corey

Please come visit my eclectic blog, Top of JC's Mind. You can never be sure what you'll find!

5 thoughts on “Rogue One”

  1. We went to see that movie over the holidays, too. I say some of us saw it…I pretty much slept through the whole thing! So sad to hear of Carrie Fisher and Debbie Reynolds.

    Like

  2. I just saw Rogue 1 and I loved it! I even got teary eyed toward the end, I was so moved. Or maybe my hormones are acting up. But no, I think it has to do with my love for Star Wars, coming full circle since seeing it 10 times in the late 70s, our current political situation, seeing the image of you know who at the end, and most of all the theme of hope. Baze was my favorite character, too. And yeah, I was quite aware of the darkness of the previews.

    Liked by 1 person

Any thoughts? Please share.