boycott

I had already been planning on not watching DT’s inauguration. Seeing and hearing him remind me too much of all the hateful things he has said and done.

I have even more reason to boycott now as a show of solidarity with Rep. John Lewis of Atlanta, Georgia.

Rep. Lewis said in an interview last week that he questioned the legitimacy of DT’s election, due to the interference of Russia.

I agree.

DT does not and excoriated Rep. Lewis on twitter, of course, on Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday weekend. Rep. Lewis is one of the last living stalwarts of the 1960’s civil rights movement dedicated to non-violence, who marched with Dr. King and bled at Selma, and the member of Congress widely known as its conscience. DT once again showed his pettiness and ignorance.

Also, DT showed his complete lack of the sense of irony, given that he spent five years questioning the birthplace and legitimacy of President Obama and repeatedly said during his own campaign that the US elections were rigged.

Many, many people are upset about this situation. Over thirty members of Congress are joining Rep. Lewis in boycotting the inauguration.

While I had already decided not to watch the inauguration before this happened, I am humbled to join my small, private boycott to theirs.
*****
Join us for Linda’s Just Jot It January! Find out how here:  https://lindaghill.com/2017/01/17/jusjojan-daily-prompt-jan-17th17/

jjj-2017

 

Author: Joanne Corey

Please come visit my eclectic blog, Top of JC's Mind. You can never be sure what you'll find!

10 thoughts on “boycott”

  1. I’m with you. I’ll be wearing black and avoiding the television all day. Did you know they’re giving away seats to the inauguration? That’d make me laugh if I wasn’t so horrified.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. No way I want to watch it. John Lewis is a real live hero – someone who stood and risked his life to live the courage of his convictions. And has kept on living them.

    It’s easy to sling nasty. But I don’t have to put myself somewhere I’ll be hit by it.

    Liked by 1 person

Any thoughts? Please share.