SoCS: check-up

One of the many things that got deferred in 2019 while we were dealing with the final months of my mom’s life and the first months without her was going to the doctor for a check-up. I wasn’t being totally health-delinquent as I had other reasons to visit the doctor’s office, but I didn’t have the standard wellness exam that someone my age would usually have every year.

Next month, I am going to have a check-up, though, preceded by lab work so we can go over the results at my appointment. I may also need to have a bone density scan. I have crossed over into a diagnosis of osteopenia, which isn’t surprising. At 59, I don’t expect to have the same bone density as a woman in her twenties. I’m hoping that I can avoid taking Fosamax or some other bone-builder medication, at least for now. I prefer to save that until I actually develop osteoporosis, if I ever do. One can only take those types of medications for a limited amount of time and I don’t want to use up my quota too soon.

I also know that I should be thinking about getting a new shingles vaccine. I have had a bout of shingles and have had the older vaccine, but the new one is supposed to be much, much more effective. I will probably need to wait longer to get it, though, because, in the next few weeks, B, T, and I are all scheduled to participate in a coronavirus vaccine trial. The trial is supposed to last for two years, but I’m sure there will be a window for me to get the shingles vaccine at a time when it won’t interfere with the trial.

I’m sure I’ll be posting about the trial when it begins.

2019-2020 SoCS Badge by Shelley

Linda’s prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday this week is “check/cheque/Czech.” Join us! Find out more here: https://lindaghill.com/2020/07/24/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-july-25-2020/

Author: Joanne Corey

Please come visit my eclectic blog, Top of JC's Mind. You can never be sure what you'll find!

11 thoughts on “SoCS: check-up”

    1. We are all hopeful that several vaccines will prove effective so that we can end the pandemic. I have actually participated in vaccine trials before, for seasonal flu, RSV, and pneumonia. My dad participated in several research studies and my sister is a now retired researcher for the National Institutes of Health, so participating in research is somewhat of a family tradition.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Very interesting that you will be participating in a trial. I don’t know of anything like that going on around here and how one would qualify. I’ll be following your details as you post them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There are several stage three trials going on in the US and abroad. The one I am doing is through Meridian. The listing of cities where they are enrolling for COVID trials is here: https://www.mcrmed.com/covid/

      We are fortunate that our family practice has a research affiliate which partners with national organizations so that we can help advance medical treatment and science.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for doing the trial. I’m a little hesitant about vaccines, so I’m glad to know the trial is thorough and that you are participating. Currently, I’m taking a “holiday” from my osteoporosis medication after being on it for almost two years. I hope your check up goes well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, JoAnna. Every study I’ve done – and I’m sure this one, as well – has a massive amount of informed consent and very strict protocols and reporting of data and results. It is so important to make sure the vaccine is safe and effective because it will only work if the vast majority of people are immunized. No vaccine is 100% effective, so part of the protection comes from widespread adoption so the disease can’t find enough hosts to cause a large outbreak.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You’re the first person I’ve “known” who’s done a vaccine trial. Strange to admit but I’ve never thought about the people who have to sign up to help scientists fine tune things. Thank you so much for this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Laura! I’ve never done early phases, only phase three. By then, safety is pretty well-established and they are studying if the vaccines work. Part of this will be in comparison with placebo but a lot of the data will come from blood tests.

      Like

Any thoughts? Please share.