SoCS: putting in “put”

My Saturday is going to be busy, so I am writing this Friday night – late after everyone else is in bed.

Ironically, I spent a lot of time today with the word “put.” The Binghamton University Chorus, in which I have sung for 33 seasons, is preparing Mendelssohn’s Lobgesang for our concert in May, but we are singing it in English rather than the original German.

In movement seven, our scores used the following text, “let us gird on the armour of light,” over and over and over. Unfortunately, the word “gird” is very difficult to sing prettily, especially when the notes are high in our ranges, as they are in this movement. So the hunt was on for a different translation that used less difficult sounds.

After comparing several Biblical translations, our director chose to change “let us gird on” to “and put on us” which is easier to sing and to understand from the audience’s perspective.  So, I spent a bunch of time today writing the text change into my score.

I admit that I only wrote it in for the soprano part, which is the part I sing. Fingers crossed that the other parts write their own changes!

The tricky part comes on Monday – when my mind needs to forget the weeks of singing “gird” and put “put” in there instead.

***************
This is part of Linda’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday. Join us!  Find the prompt and the rules here:   http://lindaghill.com/2015/03/13/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-march-1415/

socs-badge

Author: Joanne Corey

Please come visit my eclectic blog, Top of JC's Mind. You can never be sure what you'll find!

13 thoughts on “SoCS: putting in “put””

  1. Working on a piece like this with a bunch of other people and hearing it come together is challenging, yet fun, right? I love that feeling. Sounds like a good song to sing and I can imagine that word “gird” might be distracting. The change to “put” sounds much better. Best wishes and enjoy the singing!

    Like

  2. Sounds like a fun project you’re working on. I like the word “gird” myself. For me, it sounds more colorful than “put”. Hopefully you’ll all get synced up in rehearsal.

    Like

    1. Thanks! GIrd is more in keeping with the rest of the translation, which is more King James style; put is more Revised Standard. The problem is the singing of gird involves dropping the r sound and modifying the vowel so much that it becomes hard for the listener to figure out what word you are trying to convey.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I do hope you remember and everyone else gets it right… I’m imagining something strange like “girt” or “purd” coming out in the song. 😛 Now try not to laugh when you’re singing. 😉
    Good luck Joanne!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Linda! Fortunately, the concert is several weeks away so we have time to drum the new text into our skulls. Luckily, no one else will be subjected to our rehearsal on Monday when who knows what may come out of our mouths.

      Liked by 1 person

Any thoughts? Please share.