when things come in threes

Three has been an important number for me.

I was one of three sisters.

Trinity has been one of the themes in my life, from church to a high school friend to the name of my younger daughter.

There are lots of sayings about events – good or bad – happening in threes.

“The third time’s the charm.”

This afternoon, on the third day since the events of the stream of consciousness post I wrote this morning, I read this call for submissions from Silver Birch Press, making it the third instance of dealing with the meaning of names in as many days.

I have to write a poem for this. It was meant to be.

I’ve already been through several drafts in my head and two written ones. I think I will be bringing it to my poetry group this week rather than what I had planned to bring so that I can have it in shape to submit.

Here’s hoping that this poem will be a good-thing-that-comes-in-threes…

Author: Joanne Corey

Please come visit my eclectic blog, Top of JC's Mind. You can never be sure what you'll find!

9 thoughts on “when things come in threes”

  1. Also, three strikes and you are out. Sometimes you need to drop that which is not working. I love when things line up this perfectly! Three is not my favorite number, but it shows up for me a lot. I have a friend who is a numerologist. Three is the first number I asked her about. It means the great masters are with you. I believe for you that would mean God and Jesus. Awesome signs that you are not alone.

    Like

    1. Thanks for reading and commenting. It brought to mind a recent commentary I was reading about the Trinity showing a loving relationship in community and teaching us not to fall into dualistic thinking.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I had to look up dualistic thinking as the term was unfamiliar to me. I love Google for this reason. None of us fit into a category neatly. That is what makes life so interesting. And you have reminded me, I forgot the Holy Spirit in my previous comment. Yes, three is a good number. And thank you for following my blog!

        Like

    1. Trinity has become more popular in recent years. My daughter is in her mid-20s and has met several younger Trinitys. If everyone knows your daughter as Cheyenne, her Trinity-ness may be a secret from most of the people who know her!

      Like

Any thoughts? Please share.

