I feel for you

I think WordPress, Facebook, and other social media should institute a new button.

When someone has written a beautiful post on a difficult, tragic, or emotional topic, I don’t always feel qualified to comment, but want the writer to know that I have read the post and that I sympathize with them. I sometimes hit the “Like” button, but it always feels a bit unsettling. I don’t “like” that they are grieving a loved one or that they are dealing with chronic illness.

I want a button that says “I hear you.”  “I feel for you.” “You touched me.”  “You are not alone.” “I don’t like what you are going through, but I am thinking of you and sending you good thoughts.”

Anyone else with me on this?

Author: Joanne Corey

Please come visit my eclectic blog, Top of JC's Mind. You can never be sure what you'll find!

25 thoughts on “I feel for you”

    1. That’s a comment that I can like! I think most bloggers realize that some of their “likes” are meant more as a sign of support than actually liking the situation they are writing about, but it would be great to have a more refined shorthand way to express that beyond the like button.

      Like

    1. I find it is also different if it is a blog I have been following and commenting on for a long time or not. If the blogger and I are familiar with each other, I can write a comment that feels meaningful, but if it is a newer-to-me blog or a blog with a large number of followers that becomes much more difficult. Hence, my/our longing for a shorthand show of support beyond the like button.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. technically I’m not sure but I know is doable. In order to convince them I believe a Facebook page and a petition. Getting the attentions from the media usually works

        Like

    1. LOL – It’s a very quiet revolution! I’ve considered trying to get people to re-blog or write their own posts or tweets. I actually put the link to this post on a thread with OM, but no one has seen fit to re-blog. I am not equipped to lead a big social media effort, I’m afraid.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Ellen, although the reblog didn’t seem to have gone through. When I click here and on the email I received I get an Oops! message and I can’t find the re-blog by going to your blog either. I do, however, appreciate the sentiment!

      Like

        1. What I do in these instances is just copy the link from the post I want to re-blog into a new post and add whatever comment I like. If you are still interested in re-blogging this… 😉 (Shameless self-promoting)

          Like

    1. I’ll let you know when I get to the point of mounting a major media campaign. Of course, I’d need to gain a lot more skills – and probably a new personality – first. 😉

      Like

Any thoughts? Please share.