Welcome, 2016!

Happy New Year, everyone! We began our celebration toasting at midnight GMT, also known as 7:00 PM Eastern Standard Time, as I write about in my new poem on Silver Birch Press. We drank the very bottle of sparkling apple cranberry juice that I used in the photo, along with the wine glasses pictured. I did use some poetic license in the poem, as we do still have daughter T here celebrating with us this year.

I woke up early this morning with part of the middle of a poem for the collection I am working on this year swirling about in my head, so I got up to  type it into google docs before I lost it. I’m hoping it is a good omen for my poetic work this year to start January first by drafting new work for my first ever collection.

Later this morning, we will head up to GSV, the senior community where our elder generation live, to pick up Nana for 10 AM Mass. January 1st is a holy day in the Catholic Church, dedicated to Mary, the Mother of God. After church, we will have brunch at GSV with Nana, Paco, Grandma, and Grandma’s neighbor Ann.

There aren’t plans for the rest of the day, although I expect it will be low-key. As you can see, we are not the wild and crazy types!

I wish everyone the gifts of peace, joy, and contentment in 2016!
*****
This post is part of Linda’s Just Jot It January. Join us! Visit this link for more info:  http://lindaghill.com/2016/01/01/just-jot-it-january-1st-persnickety/
JJJ 2016

Author: Joanne Corey

Please come visit my eclectic blog, Top of JC's Mind. You can never be sure what you'll find!

18 thoughts on “Welcome, 2016!”

    1. Happy New Year, John! One of my former parishes used to do a late evening vigil Mass on New Year’s Eve followed by a party. Now, most parishes seem to be doing earlier vigils.

      Like

      1. Yes, ours was at 5, moved up two hours from 7 because I don’t think the parish had its customary New Year’s Eve party this year. 5:00 is a good time for us; we like to be off the roads before the festivities begin…

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Linda! I wish you and yours a happy, healthy 2016! I’m sure it will be lively, thanks to your newest addition to the family. Thanks for JusJoJan, 1LinerWeds, and SoCS. Good luck with all your writing this year!

      Like

Any thoughts? Please share.